The purpose of the Commission is to help conserve Colwood’s local heritage, enhance our City’s identity and promote sharing of knowledge. The Commission will work to build key heritage resources and promote awareness of heritage buildings and landscapes in our community, provide advice to council on heritage matters, undertake and support heritage activities including fundraising and ensure the development of a management plan.

At the February 24, 2020 Regular Meeting of Council the following members were appointed by Council to the Committee:

  • Ken Johnson (Chair)
  • Geoffrey R. Bird
  • Josh Christensen
  • Peter Devries
  • Sandra Hudson (Vice-Chair)
  • Jenny Seaman
  • Mark Salter

Council Appointed:

  • Council Representative: Councillor Michael Baxter
  • Alternate Council Representative:  Councillor Cynthia Day

Staff Resources:

  • Iain Bourhill, Director of Long Range Planning and Sustainability

Information regarding duties, meetings and procedures can be found in the Heritage Commission Bylaw No 1789,